Losing your driving privileges for driving under the influence (DUI) can be challenging. Having a DUI conviction does not mean you won’t be able to drive again, but you will need to comply with specific requirements to get back behind the wheel. In Delaware, there are three things you need to do to get your driving privileges back.
Respect the revocation or suspension period
Depending on the offense, a driver can lose their driving privileges for 3, 12 or 18 months. A convicted driver may be able to reinstate their license only if they had respected the suspension or revocation period. When someone drives on a revoked or suspended license, the court can extend the suspension or revocation period for a year. The only way a convicted person can drive is if they successfully apply for the ignition interlock program (IID) after serving a minimum mandatory revocation period.
Complete an alcohol education or treatment program
A person convicted of a DUI must pay $100 to schedule an evaluation with the Delaware Evaluation and Referral Program (DERP). The DERP will examine each case and determine which program a driver must complete to be eligible to reinstate their license in the future. Depending on the case, the DERP may require a driver to complete an education or outpatient treatment program.
An education program costs $250, and its goal is to teach offenders to drive responsibly. The DERP will order outpatient treatments when the driver has a chemical dependency and needs counseling to stop substance abuse. Additionally, the DERP may request a driver to complete an alternative program for those with mental and emotional problems that lead to their addiction. The cost for all treatment programs is $750.
Pay all fees
A DUI conviction is costly. Convicted drivers not only need to pay for the DERP’s evaluation and programs, as they also need to pay a $200 reinstatement fee, as well as fees for the IID. All drivers can apply for the IID program if they comply with specific requirements. The cost for this program is $70 for the installation of the device and $75 per month.
Back behind the wheel
Once drivers comply with the Division of Motor Vehicles’ requirements, they can get a new driver’s license. The process to reinstate a license can be expensive and time-consuming. Still, you need to do it if you want to drive again. After all, driving is a privilege and not a right under the law.